My life is still a hot mess

Hello again! I’ve missed you folks. All two of you, and hope all has been well.

A lot has changed since I was living in New York. I’ve been back in RI since September, and my cooking has diminished again. My roommate and I were cooking meals together for a while, and then I began working at a startup. That means 10-11 hour days and rare weekends. On top of that, I’m working in a creative industry writing every single day. The last thing I want to do when I come home is write some more. Or cook, for that matter!

I was thinking a lot about this blog, even though I only posted – what? Four entries? Because it used to keep me accountable to eat right (which I did put most of my weight back on! Yay!), and it was a great way to keep my mind off my ex down the hallway. I was also kind of forced to do home cooking because of my financial situation. Now, my problem with food is very different: I have the money and the resources, but I’m pressed for time when I come home exhausted from work. Takeout has become our new go-to.

Life’s been full of change the past 7 months – ahh, but some things don’t change. I’m still really fucking lazy in the kitchen.

I don’t really know what I’ll do now. This blog worked because I had a reason to fill my time up with cooking, and there was more purpose for me to cook. Not so much these days. I’m still not completely passionate about it, and it’s not really an escape for me anymore. I guess I’ll just take it as it comes. Maybe that drive will come back someday.

My life is still a hot mess

Leave a comment