Spicy Lime Corn & Diced Tomatoes

I had a hell of a day at work. It was great though, I have a summer gig showing apartments on the Upper West Side and today I showed for six people. I barely even had time for lunch! My hectic day coupled with a 1.5 hour E train ride home meant I was starving… NOW!!

Tonight was not going to be a night where I’d spend 30 minutes on a meal. Sometimes the effort is worth it, but I was practically running home to get cooking. In moments of weakness, I used to grab the nearest bag of chips and plop myself in front of Netflix. It’s easy to fall into those habits when you don’t have anything easy to fall back on. Know what will get you through those tough times? Leftovers and frozen foods.

I used an extra chicken quarter from my oven roasted chicken meal the other day to make a toasted sandwich, using store-bought hummus spread that was on sale. Sometimes a sandwich is all the effort you need to put into supper, and there is no shame in that. Two pieces of bread in the toaster, a slathering of roasted garlic and red pepper hummus, and leftover cold cuts. Boom. Easy. Side note, I think I would have liked it a lot more had I used chicken breast. This was my first time buying dark chicken meat, and I find I don’t like it. That’s just personal preference though. I’ll have to figure at some point what to do with the other two legs in my freezer.

IMG_6393

Equal (minimal) effort was spent on the corn. I have this amazing spicy lime mayo recipe I love to add to sweet vegetables… I won’t lie, half the reason it’s amazing is because everything can be done in one pot.

IMG_6392

As a bonus, I threw in some leftover canned diced tomatoes I used in a different recipe this week. It came out deelish. Only problem? It came out much more watery than I’d intended. I blame the tomato juice; I should have better drained and rinsed the tomatoes and corn after letting them simmer. Sadly, it wound up looking like the puke-worthy remains of Tubby Custard. However, you couldn’t judge a book by its cover in this case. It still came out awesome.

Tumblr_lza18hGOan1qaac30o1_400
Seriously, who in their right mind thought this was appetizing?!

Spicy Lime Corn & Diced Tomatoes
By: Me

Total prep + cook time: 5 minutes
Serves: 1
Dishes used: 1 pot

Ingredients:
1/2 Can diced tomatoes with juices (15oz)
2/3 Cups frozen corn
1 Tsp red pepper flakes
1/2 Juice of one medium lime
1 Pinch salt
1/4 Cup mayonnaise

1. In a small pot, cook corn and diced tomatoes on medium heat until thawed, or about 3 minutes.
2. Drain the tomato juice using a lid over the pot.
3. Add red pepper flakes, lime juice, salt and mayonnaise. Combine well.

Spicy Lime Corn & Diced Tomatoes

Leave a comment